Fish health

In the Fish Health Department, the main concern is for the well-being of fish. Our job is done through regular services and commissioned research projects.

 

The Fish Health Department provides these services:

  • Lice countings
  • Lump fish studies
  • Determining various lice species
  • Gill studies

 

Current research projects include:

  • Migrant behaviour of sea trout smolt
  • Sea trout health
  • Distribution and diseases of humpback salmon

 

The Fish Health Department also provides lectures, counselling and education.

Staff

Name Position Telephone Email
Andras Joensen Coordinator, quality control +298 77 47 07 andrasj@fiskaaling.fo>
Edvard í Skorðini Joensen Quality control +298 77 47 02 edvard@fiskaaling.fo>
Eirikur Danielsen Biologist, BSc +298 77 47 56 eirikur@fiskaaling.fo>
Finnur Lützen Biologist, MSc +298 51 55 10 finnur@fiskaaling.fo>
Kirstin Eliasen Head of Department, PhD +298 774 703 kirstin@fiskaaling.fo>
Símeon Ingvardson Petersen Quality control, BSc +298 77 47 11 simeon@fiskaaling.fo>
Unn Vagnsdóttir Johannesen Biologist, MSc +298 77 47 20 unn@fiskaaling.fo>